Return to About ACNM - American College of Nurse-Midwives > Honors, Awards, and Scholarships

ACNM Awards

Premier Awards

The following honors are given by ACNM each year.  The submissions deadline for the 2017 nominations is February 20, 2017. To submit a nomination for one of these awards please click here.  NOTE:  If you get a notice stating that a nomination has already been entered, please email your document, name of award and nominees name to [email protected].

Hattie Hemschemeyer Award 
The Hattie Hemschemeyer Award honors an exceptional CNM/CM who is an ACNM member, has been certified for at least ten years, and has provided either continuous outstanding contributions or distinguished service to midwifery and/or MCH, or contributions of historical significance to the development and advancement of midwifery, ACNM, or MCH. **Sitting Board of Directors members are not eligible for this award.

Kitty Ernst Award 
The Kitty Ernst Award honors an exceptional, relatively new CNM/CM who is an ACNM member, has been certified for less than ten years, and has demonstrated innovative, creative endeavors in midwifery and/or women's health clinical practice, education, administration, or research.  **Sitting Board of Directors members are not eligible for this award.

Additional Awards

The following awards are not necessarily given yearly and there may be more than one recipient in a given year. Nominations must come from an ACNM member or staff. Nominees may be a CNM/CM, ACNM staff,other professional or a consumer. If the choice is a CNM/CM, then he/she must be an ACNM member in good standing. To submit a nomination for one of these awards, please click here.

Distinguished Service Award

This award will fulfill an unanticipated need to recognize a CNM/CM for an unusual and exemplary effort in the field of community service, innovation in midwifery practice, education, or research.  **Sitting Board of Directors members are not eligible for this award.

Media Award

This award honors a media event, a book, a film, an expression of art that presented midwifery in an accurate and positive manner and in doing so helped to promote the profession of midwifery.  **Sitting Board of Directors members are not eligible for this award.

Public Policy Award

This award recognizes legislative, regulatory or health policy effort that furthered the profession of midwifery or has a significant impact on the practice of midwifery either nationally or locally. **Sitting Board of Directors members are not eligible for this award.

Exemplary Partner Organization Award

This awards honors an ACNM organization partner that has aided in the development and practice of midwifery.

Outstanding Preceptor Award

This award honors a preceptor of student CNM/CMs who has shown outstanding qualities for leadership and teaching, been a mentor for multiple students, and has repeatedly promoted high standards of midwifery education. Nominations will be submitted by educational programs. The preceptor need not be a CNM/CM.

Excellence in Teaching Award

This award honors one teacher from each ACME pre-accredited/accredited education program who has shown outstanding qualities for teaching, who has inspired students to excel and who repeatedly promoted high standards of midwifery education.

Regional Awards

The following awards are presented by the ACNM BOD Regional Representatives at any time during the year with the exception of the Exemplary Affiliate Award which is presented at the annual meeting. Submission criteria is listed for each award.

Exemplary Affiliate Award

This award is decided by the Regional Representative and the National Office staff and given to an affiliate that demonstrates one of the following:

  • Exemplified aspects of effective member communication and organizational structure
  • Tackled a challenging project
  • Actively engaged members in effecting a positive change in legislation
  • Overall, represented the ACNM Vision, Mission, and Values on the affiliate level

Clinical Stars Awards
This award is given in honor of midwives in clinical practice for 25 or more years who are members of ACNM and who have demonstrated excellence in clinical practice and positive mentoring of other CNM/CMs.

"Midwifing Midwives for a Lifetime" Commendation

This honor recognizes midwifery education programs that have educated midwifery students, increased access to midwifery education through innovation and service and put the heart of midwifery into their educational program. Award applications are accepted on an ongoing basis.

With Women for a Lifetime Commendation

This honor recognizes midwifery services that have provided innovative and compassionate midwifery care to families, expanded access to women's health care as provided by certified nurse-midwives and/or certified midwives, and put the heart of midwifery into practice.

Every midwifery practice is elegible to apply for one silver (at least ten years of service) and golden (at least twenty years of service) commendation, and one platinum (at least 40 years of service) commendation.

Other Opportunities

Louis M. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award

Dr. Hellman was a respected and well-known physician pioneer in the development of midwifery practice in the United States. The intention of this award is to present a national award of recognition to a physician who has been a champion/supporter of midwifery practice. This is a joint award given by the American College of Nurse-Midwives, the A.C.N.M. Foundation, and the Midwifery Business Network. Nominations are due January 15, 2015. 

9th Annual ACNM Video Contest

Midwives and student midwives are invited to show off their creative talents in the 9th Annual ACNM Video Contest. The grand prize winner of each category will win one free registration to the ACNM 62nd Annual Meeting & Exposition in Chicago, IL, May 21 - 25, 2017. Grand prize winners and runners up will be posted on the ACNM YouTube channel and considered for use in public relations efforts. Submissions must be received by Monday, May 2, 2016. View guidelines and submission instructions here.

There are many more scholarships, awards, and opportunities available. For these please watch for information from the A.C.N.M. Foundation, and consult the ACNM calendar. 

If you have questions about the ACNM awards, please contact [email protected]


Support the Teresa Marsico Memorial Fund and Help Fulfill ACNM’s Strategic Plan

Donors to the A.C.N.M. Foundation can help ACNM achieve their 2015-2020 Strategic Plan by designating their monies to the “Marsico Fund” when making contributions at:

American College of Nurse-Midwives.
8403 Colesville Rd, Suite 1550 | Silver Spring MD 20910
Phone: 240-485-1800 | Fax: 240-485-1818
Follow Us